Dutch team Nuon claims victory in Australia's solar-powered race


The first team to cross the finish line at the end of another epic, four-day, 3,000 km (1,800 mile) World Solar Challenge race – held in Australia every two years – was Nuon Solar Team, which belongs to the Delft University in the Netherlands.

The Bridgestone World Solar Challenge, which was first run in 1987, welcomes teams of clean energy enthusiasts to race their bespoke solar-powered vehicles across vast expanses of harsh terrain in the Australian outback.

Teams begin in Darwin and must navigate their way south to the finish line in Adelaide using nothing but solar power or kinetic energy as a fuel source. Each vehicle is permitted to include 5 kWh of battery stored power, but otherwise the teams – there were 45 participants this year – must rely solely on the sunshine.

Nuon took victory by just 11 seconds, holding off a challenge from fellow Dutch team, Solar Team Twente, to claim their sixth title. Nuon were the winners of the last World Solar Challenge in 2013.

Third place went to Japan’s Tokai University, driving the Tokai Challenger, with the University of Michigan’s Aurum car coming in fourth place.

The aim of the World Solar Challenge is to inspire scientists and researchers to push the boundaries on developing vehicles with improved performance using only solar power, with the ultimate goal being to commercialize some of the successful technology on show.

This content is protected by copyright and may not be reused. If you want to cooperate with us and would like to reuse some of our content, please contact: editors@pv-magazine.com.

Popular content

Anker launches new all-in-one home storage solution

10 July 2024 Anker has developed a new all-in-one home storage solution with up to 30 kWh of capacity, available in single-phase and three-phase configurations.


1 comment

Leave a Reply

Please be mindful of our community standards.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form you agree to pv magazine using your data for the purposes of publishing your comment.

Your personal data will only be disclosed or otherwise transmitted to third parties for the purposes of spam filtering or if this is necessary for technical maintenance of the website. Any other transfer to third parties will not take place unless this is justified on the basis of applicable data protection regulations or if pv magazine is legally obliged to do so.

You may revoke this consent at any time with effect for the future, in which case your personal data will be deleted immediately. Otherwise, your data will be deleted if pv magazine has processed your request or the purpose of data storage is fulfilled.

Further information on data privacy can be found in our Data Protection Policy.