PV CYCLE elects international-looking board


Pan-European take-back and recycling association PV CYCLE last week elected a new board at its General Assembly meeting, with SunPower’s Luis Torres taking the reins as the new its new president.

The new vice president is Stuart Brannigan of ZNSHINE, while there was also space on the board for Axel Steuer of Trina Solar, Stefan Froböse of Conergy, Andrea Bodenhagen of CSUN, Mirko Strappa of Photon Energy, and Jesus Alsono of Isofoton.

"Representing different kinds of member companies from different regions of the world confirms the important role of PV CYCLE in the PV WEEE sector," said PV CYCLE MD Jan Clyncke. "PV CYCLE was founded by and for the PV industry and we are proud to represent such a leading membership."

Speaking after the unveiling, new president Luis Torres said: "With WEE entering into force at national scale, the European PV industry enters into a new era of waste management. It is my honor to lead PV CYCLE into this new environment and guarantee for a truly sustainable, industry-managed solution."

Joining PV CYCLE for the very first time, new vice president Stuart Brannigan added: "It is crucial for our company to contribute to viable WEEE solutions that represent the needs of our industry sector in a sustainable and cost-effective way."

PV CYCLE revealed to pv magazine at last week’s Intersolar Europe exhibition that a number of enquiries into the association’s work were received from international visitors, largely from China, Thailand and India, reflecting the growing importance of WEEE compliance throughout the global PV industry.